Republic of Cyprus
CyprusAid - The Development Cooperation Service of the Republic of Cyprus

Medium Term Strategy for Development Assistance

After its accession to the European Union, the Republic of Cyprus redefined its development cooperation policy so that it would fall in line with the EU policy and priorities in the sector.

CyprusAid aims at the most efficient and well targeted allocation of assistance for maximisation of the benefits accruing to partner countries. The “2006-2010 Medium Term Strategy” summarizes these goals to:

  • Focus on the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) especially poverty reduction
  • Improvement of Aid Effectiveness
  • Promotion of Sustainable Development
  • Cooperation with other EU member states and international organisations for the purpose of joint delivery of aid to third countries.
  • The gradual increase of the national aid budget in accordance with the decisions of the international community and the EU.

It should be noted that the goals of the "Medium Term Strategy" of the period 2006-2010, remain valid for the period 2011-2015 also. The list of programme countries, however, now includes Lebanon and Bosnia and Herzegovina also. The list of project countries (i.e. countries that receive technical assistance) has been modified and now includes the following countries: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Gambia, Georgia, Indonesia, Iran, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Pakistan, Sudan, Tadzhikistan and Uzbekistan.

No documents found

Government Web portal

Ministry of Foreign Affairs