Republic of Cyprus Emblem
CyprusAid - The Development Cooperation Service of the Republic of Cyprus

Partner countries - Technical Assistance

Within the framework of the Technical Assistance Scheme, the Cyprus Government provides each year a number of scholarships of short and long duration for participation in educational courses organized by Academic Institutions and/or Universities in Cyprus, as part of its Official Development Assistance (ODA) strategy. All scholarships offered are provided on a bilateral basis, through the diplomatic channels.

The areas of studies offered are Tourism, Management and Forestry, areas in which Cyprus has developed expertise. As of the academic year 2007-2008 the scholarship scheme has been enhanced through the introduction of scholarships offered to students interested in working towards the degree of Master in Business Administration (MBA) or Master in Public Sector Management (MPSM).

Scholarships of short duration are offered only on "ad hoc basis" and in the cases where partner countries request assistance on a specific field of study that Cyprus has specialisation on.

The countries that receive assistance (long term scholraships) through the Technical Assistance Scheme are the following:

1. Armenia
2. Azerbaijan
3. Bangladesh
4. Bosnia – Herzegovina
5. Gambia
6. Georgia
7. Indonesia
8. Iran
9. Kazakhstan
10. Kyrgyzstan
11. Moldova
12. Pakistan
13. Sudan
14. Tajikistan
15. Uzbekistan

The countries that receive assistance are countries included in the OECD DAC List of ODA Recipients.

It is noted that the Technical Assistance Scheme is temporarily suspended.

Government Web portal

Ministry of Foreign Affairs